What’s in the name?

rose

“What’s in the name? That which we call a rose, by another name would smell as sweet”- William Shakespeare

These immortal lines always get me thinking. Really! What’s in the name it is the essence of the soul that matters. But then again, I think we are all born nameless and are given a name at the time of our birth. Why is it so? Why are we given names? Are they not like labels? But, on the other hand, I love my name. It is my Identity. It is a part of who I am. I am not just a daughter, sister, friend and co-worker. I have a name and I am much more than that.

A name is a very complicated entity. It sort of becomes a part of you or rather it becomes you. Every name means something. For example, my name Shipra is actually spelt as Kshipra which is name of a river in Ujjain. Hence the name represents fast, ever flowing, pure, chastity and clarity.

There is a very interesting story behind the river (K) Shipra. Hindu God Lord Shiva went to collect alms with Lord Brahma’s skull as a bowl. He went to the three worlds i.e. Heaven, Earth and Hell. But he could not get any alms. So finally he decided to go to Vaikunta which is Lord Vishnu’s residence. Upon asking of alms Lord Vishnu showed him his index finger to point at something. This made Lord Shiva angry and with his Trishul (trident) he cut off Lord Vishnu’s index finger which started bleeding. Lord Shiva collected the blood in his bowl and the blood started overflowing. When it started flowing on Earth it took the form of river (K) Shipra.

That is about my name. Now a little about the blogs name. I was always fascinated with the color red. To me it represents so much. It is color of love, life (blood), danger, passion and confidence. For ages I have seen women adore red lipsticks. Wearing a red lipstick is the ultimate comfort and luxury for a woman. From Marilyn Monroe to our own Deepika Padukone or any woman for that matter. Goes through a trial and error to find her perfect red lipstick. And once she gets it, it is hers forever. So my redlipsstick represents my trial and error with life. My journey to my biggest aspiration that is to be happy. So I hope you enjoy reading my experiences and do tell be about yours would love to hear your experiences as well. Till next time, remember this famous quote by Coco Chanel

“A girl should be two things: classy and fabulous.”

Take care. Byeeeee!!!

3 thoughts on “What’s in the name?

  1. dear and divine Shipra ,
    life is a film , birth is the start and death is an end but life is to know our role and divine’s part . some artist of the film are lucky that their real name appears at the start of the film but mostly real name appears at the end of the film . name in the film is temporary but during the film you have to act with it . so enjoy the name . and be natural and neutral to the drama of life .
    bless you with all the happiness . love all .

    ram

    p.s. ….. like the way you write

    Like

Leave a Reply

