The Nokia Story!

One of the most popular brands in mobile phones. A pioneer in introducing the mobile phones to the world. At one point in almost 90% Indians owned a Nokia phone.

Nokia_logo

The company had started as a pulp mill in 1871. Nokia were also one of the pioneers of mobile gaming, due to the popularity of Snake, which was pre-loaded on many products. The 3310 is one of the company’s most well-known products, and is noted today for its toughness. Nokia created the best-selling mobile phone of all time, the Nokia 1100 in 2003.

Nokia-5110.jpg

nokia.jpg

nokia-6600.jpg

With its CEO breaking down at a press conference and saying “we didn’t do anything wrong, but somehow, we lost”.

I felt for that man. I could understand what he would be going through. I had been a Nokia user for a majority of my life. I loved their phones. Easy to use, stylish, innovative and excellent camera. As a user I had never imagined that Nokia would run into THIS!

Then Android happened. Like most people I expected Nokia to enter into a deal with Google and I thought I would now have best of both worlds. I was still using a Nokia phone. I had Nokia X4. I waited patiently and followed the cold war between Google and Nokia. Then I gave in. I bought my first ever Android phone in Samsung.

Nokia lost yet another loyalty. But, in all of this I admire their strength to keep themselves up against the giant. They did give in, They struck a deal with Microsoft. But they did not let Google take over.

stephen-elop_nokia-president-ceo
Nokia CEO Stephen Elop addresses the Senior Leadership Event before the announcement of plans for a broad strategic partnership to build a new global mobile ecosystem . Nokia and Microsoft plan to form a broad strategic partnership that would use their complementary strengths and expertise to create a new global mobile ecosystem.

Too me it is stupid. I mean you make great phones. I understand that you did not want to give in to the competition. But where did the innovation go? You came up with Symbian. Could you not do something better? They not only lost the battle but also the hope to change, to adapt.

One thing constant is change. Nobody or nothing can deny that. Google won at understanding the changing needs of the customers and Apple followed, but, Nokia failed, and failed miserably.

I just wish, it had never happened. I miss that quality. I miss their phones. I miss Nokia. They are no more connecting people!

Leave a Reply

