Lonely!!!

“Loneliness and the feeling of being unwanted is the most terrible poverty”. —Mother Teresa

lonely

Loneliness does not see status, background or gender; it just sneaks on you. Being a part of a few support groups I have come to realize that almost everybody I meet is lonely.

It changes you….. Loneliness changes you. I am not the person I was before. Years of loneliness have finally caught up.  Now it’s just fight against time to just live …. Survive. How did I get here? No clue. Why me? No clue.

What do I know then? Is this it? Is this the end?

I am sure these questions have played in the mind of every person battling loneliness. There is no shame in admitting you are lonely. Let us talk about it. Talk about why are we lonely? What do we miss the most?

Maybe someone finally will understand …… take our loneliness away. Is it possible? I don’t know……but I sure hope so.

lonely1.jpg

I am learning how to handle my loneliness. Here are a few things that I think helps, if you are in the same boat as me… please read on.

  1. Being surrounded by people does not mean we are not lonely. We can be in a room full of people and feel very lonely.
  2. Stop looking for the special one. Yes! You heard me right. It is tedious and if you come across people who are not worth your time and effort… it just going to make you lonelier and shattered.
  3. Anybody who promises to be there and still finds fun and solace everywhere else, cut that person out of your life immediately. Yes! I know they are the only ones we can count on. It’s difficult and everything. But get through this and I promise things are going to change.
  4. Invest in yourself. First stop asking why. Just invest in yourself… eat well. Sleep well… make yourself the best version of you.
  5. Do things that scare you. Trust me. The best one. Get comfortable eating alone (your food is not going to cheat on you)…. Sleep alone (your pillow will comfort only you and not a so called “friend”). Travel alone…. Meet new people
  6. Do things you love…. Dance…sing…paint…travel…read…cook…..have one night stands……anything anything at all that makes you happy.

It is a small life… though it may seem big to us lonely folks but it actually is small…let us make it unlimited….. Whatever the reason for your survival…parents…children…siblings……revenge…..whatever….. It is…it is your goal…make it happen…take every day as it comes…..do not think too much…do not worry about future……I know it is difficult but let us just try and make…make it with hope in our hearts and smile on our faces.

We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope. —- Martin Luther King, Jr.

4 thoughts on “Lonely!!!

Leave a Reply

